Auxiliaries of the Indian Defence System – NSG, NCC, Indian Coast Guard

By | June 23, 2015

Auxiliaries of the Indian Defence System includes:-

  • National security Guard (NSG)
  • National Cadet Crops (NCC)
  • Indian Coast Guard
  • Territorial Army
  • Cantonment Boards
  • Home Guards

National Security Guard:

  • The National Security Guard (NSG) was setup in 1984 as a Federal Contingency Deployment Force to tackle all facets of terrorism in the country.
  • The NSG was modelled on the pattern of the SAS of the UK and GSG-9 of Germany.
  • National Security Guard is task-oriented force and has two complementary elements in theform of Special action Group (SAG) comprising Army personnel and the the Special Rangers Group (SRG), comprising personnel drawn from the Central Para Military Forces/State Police Force. All the personnel are on deputation.
  • The National Security Guard is a Federal Contingency Deployment Force to handle anti-hijack operations, rescue operations and to provide tough support to the Central Para Military Forces in dealing with anti-terrorist activities in whatever shape they may take place in different parts of the country.
  • The headquarters of NSG are located at New Delhi.
  • The training centre of NSG is located at Manesar, (Gurgoan).
  • National Bomb Data Center of the NSG is located at Manesar, Gurgaon.

National Cadet Crops:

  • National Cadet Crops (NCC) was established in 1948. It is consisting of 3 divisions viz. Senior, Junior and Girls.

Indian Coast Guard:

  • Indian Coast Guard constituted as an Armed force of the union and came into being on February 1, 1977 with the enactment of Coast Guard Act 1978, with effect from August 18, 1978, with effect from august 18, 1978.
  • Indian Coast Guard is the youngest armed force of the Union of India.
  • Indian Coast Guard was established on the recommendation of Rustamji committee for preservation and protection of our Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) measuring over 2.02 million sq. km area.
  • Indian Coast Guard headquarters are located in New Delhi.

Territorial Army:

  • Territorial Army is a citizens voluntary force which functions on a part time basis established in 1949.
  • All Indian nationals of 18-42 year age group possessing requisite physical qualification are eligible to join it.

Cantonment Boards:

  • Cantonment Boards were established in 1924 to safeguard the health, welfare and security of the armed forces personnel, powered with municipal administration for the civilian population in the cantonment areas.

Home Guards:

  • Home guards was raised in 1946 to assist police in controlling civil disturbance and communal riots.
  • They are spread all over India except Kerla and Arunachal Pradesh.

External links: