Departments under the Ministry of Science and Technology – DBT, DST, DSIR

By | August 3, 2017

Department of Biotechnology(DBT), Department of Science and Industrial Research (DSIR) and Ministry of Science and Technology(DST) are the three departments which work under the Ministry of Science & Technology.

Department of Biotechnology(DBT):

Department of Biotechnology(DBT) is responsible for identifying and supporting specific Research and development programs in biotechnology and biotechnology-related product manufacture.
DBT also supports training of young scientists in the field of biotechnology at various universities and institutes.

List of autonomous institutions under the department of Biotechnology:

  1. Centre for DNA Fingerprinting and Diagnostics (CDFD), Hyderabad
  2. Institute of Bio resources and Sustainable development (IBSD), Imphal.
  3. Institute of Life Sciences (ILS), Bhubaneshwar
  4. National Institute of Immunology (NII), New Delhi
  5. National Institute for Plant Genome Research (NIPGR), JNU, New Delhi
  6. National Brain Research Centre (NBRC), Gurgaon
  7. National Centre for Cell Sciences (NCCS), Pune
  8. Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology Institution (RGCB), Thiruvananthapuram
  9. National Agri-food Biotechnology Institution (NABI), Mohali
  10. National Institute of Animal Biotechnology (NAIB), Hyderabad

There are two PSUs under the administrative control of Department of Biotechnology namely,

  1. Bharat Immunologicals and Biologicals Corporation Limited, Bulandshahar
  2. Biotech Consortium India Limited (BCIL), New Delhi
  3. Indian Vaccines Corporation Limited, Gurgaon

Department of Science and Technology (DST):

Department of Science and Technology (DST) is primarily entrusted with the responsibility of formulation of S&t policies and their implementation, identification, and promotion of thrust areas of research in different sectors of Science & Technology(S&T); technology information, forecasting and assessment; international collaboration, promotion of science & society programmes and coordination of S&T activities in our country.

The list of autonomous Science and Technology Institutions:

  1. Agharkar Research Institute, Pune
  2. Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences, Nainital
  3. Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeobotany, Lucknow
  4. Bose Institute, Kolkata
  5. Centre for Liquid Crystal Research, Bengaluru
  6. Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata
  7. International Advanced Research Centre for Powder Metallurgy and New Materials, Hyderabad
  8. Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bengaluru
  9. Indian Institute of Geomagnetism, Mumbai
  10. Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru
  11. National Accreditation Board for Testing & Calibration Laboratories, New Delhi
  12. Raman Research Institute, Bengaluru
  13. S.N Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata
  14. Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences & Technology, Thiruvananthapuram
  15. Technology Information, Forecasting & Assessment Council (TIFAC), New Delhi
  16. Vigyan Prasar, New Delhi
  17. Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun
  18. Institute for Advanced Studies in Science Technology, Guwahati

Department of Science and Industrial Research (DSIR):

Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) and Consultancy Development Centre (CDC) are the two autonomous institutes which work under Department of Science and Industrial Research (DSIR).
The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), with its 39 laboratories dedicated to research and development in well-defined areas and around 50 field stations, is the major organization under DSIR.
Among the other Programmes of DSIR are to Research and Development by Industry, programs aimed at technological self-reliance, schemes to enhance the efficacy of transfer of technology and a National Information System for Science and Technology (NISSAT).

The list of CSIR Laboratories is as follows:

  1. Centre For Biochemical Technology (CBT), Delhi
  2. Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology (CCMB), Hyderabad
  3. Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI), Lucknow
  4. Central Food Technological Research Institute (CFTRI), Mysore
  5. Central Institute of Medicinal & Aromatic Plants (CIMAP), Lucknow
  6. Indian Institute of Chemical Biology (IICB), Calcutta
  7. Institute of Microbial Technology (IMT), Chandigarh
  8. Industrial Toxicology Research Centre (ITRC), Lucknow
  9. National Botanical Research Institute (NBRI), Lucknow
  10. Regional Research Laboratory (RRL,JM), Jammu Tawi
  11. Institute of Himalayan Bio resource Technology (IHBT), Palampur
  12. Central Electrochemical Research (CECRI), Karaikudi
  13. Central Leather Research Institute (CLRI), Madras
  14. Central Salt & Marine Chemicals Research Institute (CSMCRI), Bhavnagar
  15. Indian Institute of Chemical Technology (IICT), Hyderabad
  16. Indian Institute of Petroleum (IIP), Dehradun
  17. National Chemical Laboratory (NCL), Pune
  18. Regional Research Laboratory (RRL,JOR), Jorhat
  19. Central Mining Research Institute (CMRI), Dhanbad
  20. Central Road Research Institute (CRRI), New Delhi
  21. National Aerospace Laboratories (NAL), Bangalore
  22. National Environmental Engineering Research Institute (NEERI)
  23. National Metallurgical Laboratory (NML), Jamshedpur
  24. Regional Research Laboratory (RRL,BHO), Bhopal
  25. Regional Research Laboratory (RRL,BHU), Bhubaneshwar
  26. Regional Research Laboratory (RRL,TVM), Thiruvananthapuram
  27. Structural Engineering Research Centre (SERC-G), Ghaziabad
  28. Structural Engineering Research Centre (SERC-C), Madras
  29. Central Building Research Institute (CBRI), Roorkee
  30. Central Fuel Research Institute (CFRI), Dhanbad
  31. Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute (CGCRI), Calcutta
  32. Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute (CMERI), Durgapur
  33. National Institute of Science Communication & Information Resources (NISCAIR), New Delhi
  34. National Institute of Science Technology and Development Studies (NISTADS), New Delhi
  35. Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute (CEERI) Pilani
  36. Central Scientific Instruments Organisation (CSIO), Chandigarh
  37. National Geophysical Research Institute (NGRI), Hyderabad
  38. National Institute of Oceanography (NIO), Goa
  39. National Physical Laboratory (NPL), New Delhi