Flagship Programmes by Government of India

By | August 3, 2017

Some of the Flagship Programmes by Government of India (GOI) are :

  • National Rural Employment Guarantee Programme (NREGP)
  • National Rural Health Mission (NRHM)
  • Integrated Child Development Services (ICDS)
  • Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA)
  • Mid-day Meal Scheme (MDM)
  • National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP)
  • Total Sanitation Campaign (TSC)
  • Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF)

National Rural Employment Guarantee Programme (NREGP):

  • The National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (NREGA) was launched in 2005; It has been enacted to reinforce the commitment towards livelihood security in rural areas.
  • The objective of the NREGP is to enhance the livelihood security of the people in the rural area by guaranteeing 100 days of wage employment in a financial year to a rural household whose members volunteer to do unskilled manual work.
  • Starting with 200 districts across the country in phase-1 during 2005-06. NREGA was extended to additional 130 districts in phase-2 during 2007-08. Under phase-3 remaining 285 districts of the country were covered under NREGA.
  • On October 2nd, 2009 Government of India renamed it as “Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act” (MGNREGA).

National Rural Health Mission (NRHM):

  • The main aim of National Rural Health Mission – NRHM (2005-12) is to provide accessible, affordable, accountable, effective and reliable primary health care, especially to poor and vulnerable sections of the population.
  • NRHM gives a special focus on 18 states, which have weak public health indicators and weak infrastructure. Those 18 states are Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Manipur, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Madhya Pradesh, Nagaland, Orissa, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tripura, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh.
  • NRHM seeks to revitalize local health traditions and mainstream AYUSH into the public health system.

Integrated Child Development Services (ICDS):

  • The program of the Integrated Child Development Services (ICDS) was launched on 2nd October 1975 seeking to provide an integrated package of services in a convergent manner for the holistic development of the child.
  • The ultimate objective of the ICDS scheme is to reduce the incidence of mortality, morbidity, malnutrition and school dropouts and enhance the capability of the mother and family to look after the health, nutritional and development needs of the child.
  • ICDS is a nationwide program which aims at promoting health and nutritional requirements of children up to six years and expectant and nursing mothers.

Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA):

  • Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA) is the principal program for universalization of elementary education.
  • SSA aims to provide useful and relevant elementary education for all children in the age group of 6-14 years by 2010.

Mid-day Meal Scheme (MDM):

  • Mid-day Meal (MDM) was launched in 1995 and aims to give a boost to the universalization of primary education by increasing enrollment, retention and attendance and simultaneously impacting upon nutritional status of students in primary classes.
  • MDM scheme was revised in June 2006, provides for 450 calories, 12 gm of protein and adequate quantities of micronutrients such as iron, folic acid and vitamin A to children. The cooking cost has been enhanced to Rs. 2.00 per child per school day.

National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP):

  • National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP) entered into force on August 15, 1995. NSAP is an amalgamation of National Old Age Pension Scheme, National Family Benefit Scheme, and National Maternity Benefit scheme.
  • NSAP objective is to provide social assistance to poor houses.

Total Sanitation Campaign (TSC):

  • In 1999, the Department of Drinking Water Supply launched “Total Sanitation Campaign (TSC)’ which is a demand-responsive, community-oriented, low subsidy program in a project mode.
  • The objective of TSC was attaining 100% sanitation coverage regarding household, schools and Anganwadi toilets and also providing hygiene education to the people.

Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF):

  • The Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF) has replaced the Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana (RSVY) to provide a more participative approach through the involvement of PRIs.
  • The spatial coverage was also expanded, and it now covers 250 districts.
  • BRGF aims at catalyzing developments in backward areas by:
    1. Filling infrastructure gaps.
    2. Promoting good governance and agrarian reforms.
    3. Converging through supplementary infrastructure and capacity building, the substantial existing development inflows into these districts.