About International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

By | April 16, 2018
  • ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is the world’s largest developer and publisher of International Standards.
  • ISO was founded in 1947 as a non-governmental federation of national standards bodies.
  • ISO is a network of the national standards institutes of 163 countries, one member per country, with a Central Secretariat in Geneva, Switzerland, that coordinates the system.
  • ISO is a non-governmental organization that forms a bridge between the public and private sectors. On the one hand, other members have their roots uniquely in the private sector, having been set up by national partnerships of industry associations.
ISO logo

ISO logo

ISO 9000 Family:

  • Standards in the ISO 9000 family include:
    • ISO 9001:2008 – sets out the requirements of a quality management system
    • ISO 9000:2005 – covers the basic concepts and language
    • ISO 9004:2009 – focuses on how to make a quality management system more efficient and effective.
    • ISO 19011:2011 – sets out guidance on internal and external audits of quality management systems.
  • The ISO 9000 family address “Quality management“.
  • This means what the organization does to fulfill:
    • Customer’s quality requirement,
    • Applicable regulatory requirements, while aiming to
    • Enhance customer satisfaction, and
    • Achieve continual improvement of its performance in pursuit of these objectives.

ISO 14000 Family:

  • The ISO 14000 family addresses “Environmental management“.
  • This means what the organization does to:
    • Minimize harmful effects on the environment caused by its activities, and to
    • Achieve continual improvement of its environmental performance.