Milestones in Indian Space Programme from 1962 to 2010

By | August 17, 2015
Milestones in Indian Space Programme
1962 Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR) formed and wok on establishing Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) started.
1963 First Sounding rocket launched from TERLS (November 21, 1963).
1965 Space Science and Technology Centre (SSTC) established in Thumba
1967 Satellite Telecommunication Earth Station set up at Ahmedabad.
1968 TERILS dedicated to United Nations from Febraury 2, 1969.
1969 Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) formed on August 15, 1969.
1972 Space Commission and Department of Space set up. ISRO brought under DoS (June 1, 1972).
1972-1976 Airborne remote sensing experiments were conducted.
1975 ISRO became Government Organization from April 1, 1975.
First Indian Satellite, Aryabhatta, launched on April 19, 1975.
1975-1976 Satellite Instructional Television Experiment (SITE) was conducted.
1977-1979 Satellite Telecommunications Experiments Project (STEP) was carried out.
1979 Bhaskara-I, an experiment satellite for earth observations, was launched on June 7, 1979. First Experimental launched of SLV-3 with Rohini Technology Payload on board (August 10, 1979), Satellite could not be placed in orbit.
1980 Second Experimental launch of SLV-3. Rohini satellite successfully placed in orbit on July 18, 1980.
1981 First developed launch of SLV-3. RS-D1 placed in orbit on May 31, 1981. Apple, an experimental geostationary communication satellite successfully launched (June 19, 1981). Bhaskara-II was launched on November 20, 1981.
1982 Insat-1A was launched on April 10, 1982. Deactivated on September 6, 1982.
1983 Second development launch of SLV-3, RS-D2 placed in orbit on April 17, 1983.
1984 Indo-Soviet manned space mission on April 1984.
1987 First developed launch of Augmented Satellite Launch Vehicle (ASLV) with SROSS-1 satellite on board on March 24, 1987. Satellite could not be placed in orbit.
1988 Launch of first operational India Remote Sensing Satellite, IRS-1A on March 17, 1988.
1990 INSAT-1D launched on June 12, 1990.
1991 Launch of second operational Remote Sensing Satellite, IRS-1B on August 29, 1991.
1992 3rd development launch of ASLV with SROSS-C on board (May 20, 1992). Satellite placed in orbit. INSDAT-2A, the first satellite of the indigenously-built second-generation INSAT services, launched on July 10, 1992.
1993 INSAT-2B, the second satellite in INSAT-2 series, launched on July 23, 1993.
1994 Fourth developmental launch of ASLV with SROSS-C2 on board (May 4, 1994). Satellite placed in orbit. Second development launch of Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) with IRS-P2 on board (October 15, 1994). Satellite successfully placed in polar sun-synchronous orbit.
1995 INSAT-2C, the third satellite in INSAT-2 series, launched on December 7, 1995.Launched third third operational Indian Remote Sensing Satellite, IRS-C on December 28, 1995.
1996 Third development launch of PSLV with IRS-P3 on board (March 21, 1996). Satellite placed in polar sun synchronous orbit.
1997 INSAT-2D, fourth satellite in INSAT-2 series launched on June 4, 1997. Becomes inoperable on October 4, 1997 (An in-orbit satellite, ARABSAT-1C, later renamed INSAT-2DT, was accquired in November 1997 to partly augment INSAT system).
1998 Insat system capacity augmented with the readiness of INSAT-2DT acquired from ARABSAT on January 1998.
1999 INSAT-2E, the last satellite in the multi purpose.
INSAT-2E series, launched by Ariane from Kourou Island, French Guiana (April 3, 1999),
Indian Remote Sensing Satellite, IRS-P4 (OCEANSAT-1), launched by Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSCLV-C2) along with Korean KITSAT-3 and German DLR-TUBSAT from Sriharikota on May 26, 1999).
2000 INSAT-3B, thefirst satellite in the third generation INSAT-3 series, launched by Ariane from Kourou Island, French Guiana (March 22, 2000).
2001 Successful flight test of Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) on April 18, 2001 with an experimental satellite GSAT-1 on board.
Successful launch of PSLV-C3 on October 22, 2001 placing three satellites – India’s TES, Belgian PROBA and German BIRD, into Polar sun-synchronous orbit.
2002 Successful launch of INSAT-3C by Ariane from Kourou Island, French guiana (january 24, 2002).
Successful launch of KALPANA-1 by ISRO’s PSLV from SDSC, SHAR (September 12, 2002).
2003 Successful launch of INSAT-3A by Ariana from Kourou Island, French Guiana (january 24, 2002). Successful launch of second development test flight of GSLV (GSLV-D2) with GSAT-2 on board from SDSC SHAR (May 8, 2003). Successful launch of INSAT-3E by Ariane from Kourou Island, French Guiana (September 28, 2003).
Successful launch of RESOURCESAT-1 by ISRO’s PSLV-C5 from SDSC SHAR. EDUSAT placed in GTO on September 20, 2004.
2004 Successful first operational flight of GSLV (GSLV-F01) from SDSC SHAR, EDUSAT placed in GTO on September 20, 2004.
2005 Successful launch of CARTOSAT-1 and HAMSAT by PSLV-C5 from the newly established Second Launch Pad at SDSC SHAR (May 5, 2005). Successful launchof INSAT-4A by Ariane from Kpurpu Island, French Guiana on December 22, 2005.
2006 Second operational flight of GSLV (GSLV-F02) from SDSC SHAR with INSAT-4C on board (July 10, 2006). Satellite could not be placed in orbit.
2007 PSLV-C7 successfully launches four satellites – India’s CARTOSAT-2 and Space Capsule Recovery Experiment (SRE-1) Indonesia’s LAPAN-TUBSAT and Argentina’s PEHUENSAT-1 on January 10, 2007. Successful recovery of SRE-1 after maneuvering it to reenter the earth’s atmosphere and descended over the Bay of Bengal about 140 km east of Sriharikota on January 22, 2007.
2007 Successful launch of INSAT-4B along with Skynet-5A (UKs military communication satellite) by Ariane vehicle from Kourou Island in French Guiana on March 12, 2007.
2007 Successful launch of Italian satellite AGILE with an ISRO payload Advanced Avionics Module (AAM) by PSLV-C8 on April 23, 2007 from Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC), Sriharikota.
2007 Successful launch of the communication satellite, INSAT-4CR by GSLV-F04 from Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC), Sriharikota.
2008 PSLV-C10 successfully launches TECSAR satellite under a commercial contact with Antrix Corporation on January 21, 2008. PSLV-C9 successfully launches CARTOSAT-2A, IMS-1 and foreign nano satellite from Sriharikota on April 28, 2008. PSLV-C11 successfully launches CHANDRAYAN-1 from Sriharikota on October 22, 2008.
2009 PSLV-C12 successfully launches RISAT-2 and ANUSAT from Sriharikota on April 20, 2009.
2009 PSLV-C14 successfully launches Seven Satellites – OCEANSAT-2, Four CUBESAT Satellites and Two Rubin-9 from Sriharikota on September 23, 2009.
2010 GSLV-D3 launched from Sriharikota on April 15, 2010. GSAT-4 satelliote could not be placed in orbit as flight testing of the Indigenous Cryogenic Stage in GSLV-D3 Mission was not successful.
2010 PSLV-C15 successfully launches Five Satellites – CARTOSAT-2B, ALSAT-@A, two nano satellites-NLS-6.1 & 6.2 and a pico-satellite- STUDSAT from Sriharikota (July 12, 2010).