Role of Directorate General of Civil Aviation

By | June 9, 2017

The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) is the Indian governmental regulatory body for civil aviation under the Ministry of Civil Aviation. The Directorate investigates aviation accidents and incidents. It is headquartered a Safdarjung Airport in New Delhi. DGCA ha fourteen Regional Airworthiness Offices (RAO) in Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Banglore. Hyderabad, Thiruvananthapuram, Bhopal, Lucknow, Patna, Bhubaneshwar, Kanpur, Guwahati and Patiala. It also has five Regional Air Safety offices located at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata and Hyderabad. It has a Regional Research and Development Office located at Banglore and Gliding Centre at Pune.

The Directorate General of Civil Aviation is responsible for the following:

  1. Laying down rules and regulations for implementation of International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) Standards and Recommended Practices;
  2. Regulation of air transport services within India;
  3. Regulation of civil aircraft in India;
  4. Formulation of standards of airworthiness for civil aircraft registered in India and grant of Certificate of Airworthiness to such aircraft;
  5. Licencing of pilots, aircraft maintenance engineers and flight engineers;
  6. Licencing of aerodrome in India;
  7. Investigation into air accidents and incidents;
  8. Implementation of bilateral air services agreements with foreign countries;
  9. Rendering advice on matters about air transport;
  10. Processing at aviation registration;
  11. Supervision of the training activities of the Flying/Gliding Clubs in India;
  12. Development of light aircraft, gliders and winches; and
  13. Granting of certification of aircraft.