Islands in India

By | November 26, 2015

In India there are nearly 650 islands, most of islands are located in two groups:

  1. Andaman and Nicobar group
  2. 2) Lakshadweep group

1. Andaman and Nicobar group

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands are located in the Bay of Bengal, are considered as the continuation of the Arakanyoma mountain ranges of Mynamar.
  • There are 572 islands in Andaman and Nicobar group.
  • Ten degree Channel separates Andaman group from Nicobar group whereas Duncan passage separates Little Andaman from South Andaman capital Port Blair is located in South Andaman.
  • Middle Andaman is the largest (area wise) oceanic island of India.
  • Saddle peak (737 m) is the highest peak of Andaman and Nicobar and is located in North Andaman.
  • Indira Point (Pygmallion point) is the southern-most point of India territory(6.5° N), which is located in Great Nicobar.
  • Barren Island of Andaman group is the only active volcano of India. Last time, it was erupted on 17th February, 2013.

2. Lakshadweep group

  • Lakshadweep group is a coral island located in Arabian Sea and Kavaratti is its capital. Through Lakshadweep literally mean ‘one lakh islands’ but it is only a group of 36 small islands.
  • In Lakshadweep, Most of the islands are horse shoe shaped and make up of attols (coral deposits).
  • The islands north of 11°N are known as Amindivi islands while the of this latitude are called Cannanore Islands.
  • Andrott island is the largest island of Lakshadweep whereas Minicoy is the second largest and southern most island of this group.
  • Minicoy is separated from rest of the Lakshadweep by Nine Degree Channel whereas Lakshadweep group separated from Maldives by Eight Degree Channel.
  • Presently, Lakshadweep Islands are highly affected by Coral Bleaching due to Global Warming.

3. Other Important Group of Islands in India

  • Newmoore Island: It is located in Bay of Bengal on the mouth of Ganga.
  • Pumban Island: It is located in Gulf of Manner between India and Sri Lanka.