Railway Engineering Industries and Institutes in India

By | April 16, 2018

Indian Railway is fully independent in the matter of building all its equipment. The industry is based on railway equipment was established as a Peninsular Locomotive company at Singhbhum district of Jharkhand in 1921. Later, it was named as “Tata Engineering and Locomotive Company’ (TELCO).

Some of the railway production units in India are:

  1. Chittaranjan Locomotive Works (CLW), Chittaranjan: Steam locomotives & electric locomotives.
  2. Diesel Locomotive Works (DLW), Varanasi: Diesel locomotives.
  3. Wheel Axle Plant (WAP), Bangalore: Wheel Axle Plant.
  4. Diesel Loco Modernisation Works (DMW), Patiala: Diesel components & parts.
  5. Rail Coach Factory (RCF), Kapurthala, Punjab: Rail coaches.
  6. Integral Coach Factory (ICF), Chennai: Coaching stock.
  7. Bharat Earth Movers Ltd., Bangalore: Rail coaches for Delhi Metro Rail Corporation.
  8. Durgapur & Yelahanka: Wheel Axle Plant.
  9. Tatanagar: Meter gauge steam locomotives.
  10. Bhilai: Rail and sleeper cars.
  11. Perambur: Rail coaches.
Note: About 60% of total Rail units in India are produced in West Bengal state.

Some of the Railway Institutes and Services of Indian Railways are:

  • The Indian Railways Institute of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering (IRIMEE)
  • The Indian Railway Institute of Electrical Engineering, Nashik (IRIEEN)
  • Indian Railway Institute of Civil Engineering (IRICEN)
  • The Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers
  • The Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineers (IRSME).