Overview of India’s Freedom Struggle Movements (1885 to 1947)

by team

Overview of India’s Freedom Struggle Movements from 1885 to August 15th 1947.India’s Freedom Struggle Moments from 1885 to August 15th 1947.




Formation of Indian National Congress. First session held at Bombay on 28th December attended by 72 delegates.


Partition of Bengal announced by Curzon.


Muslim league founded at Dacca by Agra Khan the Nawab of Dacca by Aga Khan the Nawab of Dacca and Nawab Mohsin-ul-Mulk, 1st communal party.


Congress spilt at Surat session.


Lala Lajpat Rai and Ajit Sigh deported to Mandalay following riots in the canal colony of Punjab.


Khudiram Bose executed.

1908, July 22

Tilak sentenced to six years imprisonment on charges of sedition.

1909, May 21

Morely Minto Reforms or the Indian Council Act 1909 announced.


Capital of India was shifted from Calcutta to Delhi.

1912, Dec 23

Bomb thrown on Lord Hardinge in Chandini Chowk, Delhi by Rashbehari Bose and Sachindra Sanyal.

1913, Nov 1

Ghadar party formed at San Francisco to organise a rebellion in India to overthrow the British rule.


First World War started.

1915, Jan

Gandhiji returned to India


Gandhiji formed Sabarmati Ashram at Ahmedabad

1916, April 28

Home Rule league founded by Tilak with its headquarters at Poona (Indian home rule league of India).

1916, Sept. 25

Another Home Rule League started by Annie Besant.


Foundation of Banaras Hindu University by by Madan Mohan Malaviya, lucknow part.

1917, April

Mahatma Gandhi launches the Champaran satyagraha.

1917, Aug 20

Montague, the secretary of State for India, declares that the goal of the British government in India is the introduction of responsible government.

1918, March 23

First all-India Depressed Class conference was held.

1918, April

Rowlatt (sedition) committee submits its reports. Rowlatt Bill introduced on February 16, 1919.

1919, April 6

All India hartal over Rowlatt Bill called by Gandhiji, 1st National agitation.

1919, April 13

Jallianwala Bagh tragedy and the great Amritsar massacre.

1919, Dec. 25

Montague Chelmsford Reform or the Government of India Act, 1919 announced.


First meeting of All Indian Trade Union Congress (AITUC) held at Bombay presided over by Lala Lajpat Rai.

1920, Dec

Indian National Congress (INC) adopts the Non-cooperation resolution.

1922, Feb. 5

Chauri Chauri incident which led to the suspension of the Non-cooperation movement.


Second Moplah uprising, Malabar coast, Kerla.

1922, May

Vishwa Bharati University started by Ravindra Nath Tagore.

1923, Jan 1

Swarajist party founded by Motilal Nehru and others.

1925, June 16

Death of Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das

1925, August

Looting of train near Kakori by revolutionaries & conspiracy case.

1927, November 8

Appointment of the Simon Commission


Nehru Report for a new constitution of India.

1929, March 9

All Parties Muslim Conference formulates the “fourteen points” under the leadership of Jinnah.

1929, April 8

Bhagat Singh and Batukeshwar Dutt drop bomb in the central legislative Assembly to protest against the Public Safety Bill.

1929 September 13

Jatin Das dies in Jain after 64 days of fast.

1929, October 31

Lord Irwin’s announcement that the goal of British policy in India was the grant of domination status.

1921, December 31

Lahore session of the Congress under Jawahrlal Nehru adopts thegoal of ccomplete independence (Poorna swaraj) for India.

1930, Jan. 1

Jawaharlal Nehru hoists the tricolour of Inida on the banks of Ravi in Lahore.

1930, Jan. 26

First Independence Day observed.

1930, Feb. 14

Working committee of INC meets at Sabarmati and passed the Civil Disobediences Movement with his epic Dandi march.

1930, March 12

Mahatma Gandhi launches the Civil Disobedience Movement with his epic Dandi march.

1930, Nov. 12

First Round table conference begins in London to consider the report of Simon Commission for the future constitutional set-up in India.

1931, March 5

Gandhi Irwin pact signed. Civil Disobedience movement suspended.

1931 March 23

Bhagat Singh, Sukh Dev and Raj Guru executed (in Lahore Case).

1931, September 7

Second Round Table conference begins Mahatma Gandhi arrives in London to attend it.

1932, August 16

British Prime Minister Ramsay Mac Donald announces the Communal Awards giving separate electorate to Harijans get reserved seats in place of separate electorate.

1932, Sept. 20

Gandhi’s fast unto death.

1932, Sept. 26

Poona pact signed by which the Harijans get reserved seats in place of separate electorate.

1932, Nov. 17

Third Round table Conference begins at London.

1935, Aug. 4

Government of India Act passed.


Elections held in India under the Act of 1935. The Indian National Congress forms minsters in seven provinces.

1938, Feb. 19-20

Haripuran session of the Indian National Congress. Subhash Chandra Bose elected the congress president.

1939, Mar. 10-12

Tripuri session of Indian National Congress.

1939, April

Subhas Chandra Bose resigns the presidentship of the Indian National Congress.

1939, Sept. 3

Second world war begins. Viceroy declares that India too is at war. 

1939, Nov. 5

Congress ministries in the provinces resign against the war policy of the British Government.

1939, Dec. 22

Muslim League observes the resignation of the congress ministries as Deliverance day.

1940, March

Lahore session of the Muslim league passes the Pakistan Resolution.

1940, Aug. 10

Viceroy Linlithglow announces the August offer.

1940, Oct. 17

Congress launches Individual Satyagraha movement.


Death of Ravindranath Tagore.

1941, Jan. 17

Subhas Chandra Bose escapes from India to Germany.

1942, March 11

Churchill announces the Cripps Mission.

1942, Aug. 8

Indian National Congress meets at Bombay and adopts the Quit India resolution.

1942, Aug. 11

Quit India Movement Begins

1942, Sept. 1

Indian National Army (Azad Hind Fauj) is formed at Singapore.

1943, Oct.

Subhas Chandra Bose tales over the leadership of Indian National Congress and proclaims formation of the ‘Provisional Government of free India’ at Singapore.

1943, Dec.

Karachi session of the Muslim League adopts the slogan of ‘Divide and Quit’.

1944, June 25

Wavell calls Simla conferences in a bid to form the executive Council of Indian political leaders

1946, Feb. 1-8

Rating Mutiny

1946, March 15

British Prime Minister Attlee announces the Cabinet Mission

1946, Aug. 6

Wavell invites Nehru to form an interim government.

1946, Dec. 9

First Session of the Constituent Assembly

1947, Feb. 20

British Prime Minister Attlee declares that the British government would leave India by June 1948.

1947, March 24

Loard Mountbatten, last British viceroy and governor general of India is sworn in.

1947, June 3

Mountbatten Plan for partition of India is announced.

1947, July 4

Indian Independence Bill introduced in the House of Commons and passed by the British parliament on July 18, 1947.

1947, Aug. 15

Indian got freedom