Procedure for Formation of New States in India

by Vinodh Reddy

New States and Union Territories formed in India after 1956

Maharashtra and Gujarat (1960)
The bilingual State of Bombay was divided into Maharashtra and Gujarat.  Gujarat became the 15th state of the Indian Union.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli (1961)
The Portuguese ruled this territory until its liberation in 1954. By the 10th Constitution Ammendment Act 1961, Dadra and Nagar Haveli became the union Territory of India.

Goa, Daman & Diu (1961)
India acquired Goa, Daman & Diu territories from the Portuguese by means of Police action in 1961. Goa, Daman & Diu were added as Union Territory of India by the 12th Constitution Amendment Act, 1962. Later in 1987, Goa was made a State and Daman & Diu as a seperate union territory.


Pondicherry (1962)
Pondicherry was ruled by French till 1954, it includes 4 districts vi. Pondicherry, Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam. from 1954 to 1962 it renamed as acquired territory by the 14th Constitution amendment Act, 1962 it was made union Territory of India.

Nagaland (1963)
The state of Nagaland Act 1962, formed the new state of Nagaland with effect from 1st Febraury 1964 comprising the territory of the Naga Hils and Tuensang area which previously a tribal area in the sixth schedule of he Constitution forming part of Assam.

Haryana, Chandigarh (1966)
In 1966, Punjab was bifurcated to create Haryana as the 17th State and Chandigarh as Union Territory.

Himachal Pradesh (1971)
Himachal pradesh was changed from the status of a Union Territory to that of a State by the State of Himachal Pradesh Act, 1970.

Manipur, Tripura and Meghalaya (1972)
In 1972, the two UTs of Manipur and Tripura and the sub-state of Meghalaya got stateshood. Thus Manipur, Tripura and Meghalaya became the 19th, 20th and 21st State of India respectively.

Sikkim (1975)
During British rule Sikkim wasw a Indian State ruled by Chogyal subject to the British Paramountcy. Sikkim got the status of an association State in 1974 by the 35th Constitution Amendment Act, 1974. Sikkim got the status of a full fledged State in 1975 by the 36th Constitution Amendment Act, 1975.

Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Goa (1987)
Mizoram got stateshood in 1986. Earlier by the act of 1971, Mizoram was provided a status of Union Territory.
Arunachal Pradesh a Union Territory was given the status of state of Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986.
Goa became 25th State of india.

Chhattisgarh (2000)
Chhattisgarh became the 26th State of India on 1st November 2000.

Uttarakhand (2000)
Uttarakhand became the 27th State of India on 9th November 2000 with the name Uttaranchal. However, it was renamed as Uttarakhand in 2007.

Jharkhand (2000)
Jharkhand became the 28th State of India on 15th november 2000.

Telangana (2014)
Telangana became the 29th state of India on 2nd June 2014.