Tag Archives: Physiographic Divisions of India

Islands in India

By | May 13, 2018

In India there are nearly 650 islands, most of the islands are located in two groups: Andaman and Nicobar group Lakshadweep group 1. Andaman and Nicobar group Andaman and Nicobar Islands are located in the Bay of Bengal, are considered as the continuation of the Arakan Yoma mountain ranges of Myanmar. There are 572 islands in Andaman and… Read More »


Coastal Plains of India

By | March 9, 2016

To the east and west of the peninsular plateau, two narrow strips of plain lands are found , which are respectively called Eastern Coastal Plain and Western Coastal Plain. Eastern Coastal and Western Coastal Plain are formed by the erosional and depositional & activities of the Sea waves and from the sediments brought by the peninsular rivers. Western… Read More »


The Great Plains of India (Indus-Ganga-Brahmaputra)

By | November 18, 2015

Great Plains of India is also called the Indus-Ganga-Brahmaputra plains. It extends for a distance of about 3200 km and width of this plain varies from 150 km to 300 km. The plain was formed as a result of filling of marine depressions by detrital materials brought by water. Plains were formed after the upliftment of Himalayas. Majority… Read More »


The Peninsular Plateau of India

By | August 21, 2015

The Peninsular Plateau is a part of the ancient Gondwanaland and is in triangular shape. This plateau average height is between 600 to 900 m. It extends from alluvial plains of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar towards south and encompasses whole of the peninsula. Important Ranges in Peninsular Plateau The Aravali range: It is one of the oldest mountain… Read More »


The Himalayan Range of Mountains

By | August 13, 2015

1. The Himalayas The Himalayas are young fold mountains of tertiary period which were folded over Tethys Sea due to intercontinental collision. These Himalayas extend about 2500 km between Indus and Brahmaputra gorges from west to east in an arc shaped manner. The upliftment of Himalayas is believed to have taken place in three main phases after upliftment… Read More »